David L. Hader Award Nominations Requested

The first David L. Hadler Risk Manager of the Year award was presented at EIM’s 25th Risk Manager’s Information Meeting in 2011.  The award is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Hadler, who was the President and CEO of Energy Insurance Mutual from 1993 until 2009. It is awarded to the Member Company risk manager who embodies the professionalism, commitment to excellence and long-standing dedication to risk management that were the hallmarks of David’s career. EIM directs a $5,000 donation to the risk management program at the college or university of the recipient’s choosing.  The interest in and support of this Risk Manager of the Year award by the energy industry has benefited numerous students at various college and university Risk Management programs across the country.  Since the award began, there have been many innovative and meaningful ways that award recipients and their chosen schools have used the award proceeds to help to educate young people and to provide opportunities to further careers in Risk Management.

Our 2020 recipient, Debbie Gaffney, Director of Risk Management, Southern Company, recently shared some words of gratitude from students who received the scholarship funds this year:

“I wanted to come to UGA to change my life; I am so thankful for all of the kindness and warmth I have received while being here. Thank you for paying it forward to the RMI program, I hope to do the same”. 

“Once again, I would like to thank you for your generosity and support through this crucial moment in my life. I plan to continue to work hard and represent the recipients of your support and the Terry College of Business with great merit. This award has also inspired me to continue a cycle of generous Terry alum donations if the future opportunity presents itself”.

Please take the time to nominate a deserving member of the energy and utility risk management community for this very special award.  All nomination forms are due by November 30, 2020.

Nomination Form


Jill Dominguez
Vice President, Chief Underwriting Officer