2022 David L. Hadler Risk Manager of the Year Nomination Form

The first David L. Hadler Risk Manager of the Year award was presented at EIM’s 25th Risk Manager’s Information Meeting in 2011. The award is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Hadler, who was the President and CEO of Energy Insurance Mutual from 1993 until 2009. It is awarded to the Member Company risk manager who embodies the professionalism, commitment to excellence and long-standing dedication to risk management that were the hallmarks of David’s career. EIM directs a $5,000 donation to the risk management program at the college or university of the recipient’s choosing. 

The interest in and support of this Risk Manager of the Year award by our industry has helped put over $95,000 to use in various Risk Management programs across the country. Over the years there have been many creative ways the recipients and schools are using the money to help to educate young people and to provide opportunities to further careers in Risk Management.

Our 2021 recipient, Greg Umscheid, retired Director of Risk Management, Evergy chose to put the funds to use at three Kansas schools last year. Collectively, Wahburn University, Kansas State University and Kansas University were able to use the scholarship money to help students in their respective Risk Management programs.

Please take the time to nominate a deserving member of the energy and utility risk management community for this very special award. All nomination forms are due by December 1, 2021.



Jill Dominguez
Vice President, Chief Underwriting Officer

Energy Insurance Mutual
3000 Bayport Drive, Suite 550, Tampa, FL 33607-8418
Office: (813) 490-0917 | Cell: (813) 679-2788